Archdiocese of Rabaul

Metropolitan See New Guinea Islands

The Archdiocese comprises the provinces of East New Britain. Following the commencement of Church work in 1880, and the arrival of Missionaries of the Sacred Heart in 1882, the current Archdiocese was part of the Vicariate Apostolic of New Britain (New Pomerania) from 10 May 1889, the Vicariate Apostolic of Rabaul from 14 November 1922 and Archdiocese of Rabaul from 15 November 1966.

  • Facebook Social Icon
Most Rev. Archbishop Francesco Panfilo SDB DD
  • White Instagram Icon

Contact Us


+675 325 9577


CBC, P. O. Box 398, Waigani,

Port Moresby, PNG